PHT402; Week 1- Empathy in professional practice

5 thoughts on “PHT402; Week 1- Empathy in professional practice”

  1. Hi Janine. Nice post. I really like your idea of reflecting on your perceptions before going through the resources. It’s good to “know yourself” before seeing what others have to say.

  2. Hi Janine, well written and structured blog post. Well done. I am of the opinion that empathetic engagement is context-specific and what is more important is human connection and treating everyone that crosses our path with understanding, tolerance, dignity and respect. From my experiences as a qualified paeds physiotherapist, I have found that what works for me is having compassion, sensitivity and understanding of all my patients and being able to be flexible and holistic in my approach whilst being genuinely interested in their lives and state of mind. I care, and will always care about the wellbeing of my little patients. It’s not just about the clinical therapy and rehab.
    Love your quote by Mother Teresa. Great post 🙂

    1. Hi Chantelle.
      Flexibility in your approach is most definitely a must when working with little ones!

      i admire your opinion and feel that “understanding, tolerance, dignity and respect” is what everyone should try to engrave in their lives… does this come naturally to you? or is their some days your patience is tested?

      What was your reasoning for branching in to pediatric physiotherapy (if i may ask)?

      1. Hi Janine, well I feel that I have more patience with babies and kids! As odd as it may soud, I “understand” them better. It’s about the authentic human connection with them that comes naturally to me and I guess I found my niche. I believe that all children deserve the best start in life, no matter what obstacles they face or mess they’ve been dropped in.

        For 5 years I worked in state and private in general hospital and out-patients, so I go ot experience all the fields in phyiotherapy. But whenever I got the opportunity to be in the KMC Premature Baby ward or Paediatric ward, I felt “home” and wanted to know more, be more and do more. I gravitated towards doing more in paediatrics, such as developing a neurodevelopmental screening tool in the paediatric ward as well as a premature baby follow-up programme at the state facility I worked at. I also got excited and motivated when I had a breastfeeding mommy or baby/child coming in to see me for therapy. I felt a sense of satisfaction in my work on those days.

        I believe that if I’m going to spend so many hours working as a physiotherapist, then I have to love what I do and make a difference! I always wanted to work with kids, in High School I wanted to be a Paediatrician, then a Child Psychologist and then a Paediatric Physiotherapist.

        Some days I have to take a deep breath and regroup as we all have difficult patients or stressful situations. But I never get emotionally distressed or overwhelmed when working with special needs kids or really sick babies. I try and focus on what they can do and the small steps they take, rather than what they can’t do and what challenges lie ahead. Positivity!

      2. Chantelle=)

        ahhh i have much respect for you, i always encourage others to “be childlike”… I agree with you a 100% that all children deserve the best start in life, i think about it like this, that the child didn’t ask for anything but to be loved and cared for (within their parents capabilities, of course).

        You seem to have a genuine, authentic connection with one of the most natural occurrences in life.. very poetic.

        Being in 3rd year i think its best to explore all avenues and options, yet of course still paying attention to your instinct in letting you know when you discover your niche!

        Thank you for sharing

Leave a Reply

